ST CREWENNA, CROWAN
HOW TO FIND US
Information about accessibility to follow.
THE HISTORY OF OUR CHURCH
St Crewenna, the granite built, parish church of Crowan is believed to be named after one of the Irish saints accompanying saints Germoe and Breaca. Crowan church was given, by William, Earl of Gloucester to St James’ Priory, Bristol which was a dependency of the Benedictine Abbey of Tewkesbury. The present church is of the 15th century but was substantially restored in 1872.
In some 18th-century documents there is evidence that the parish was called Uni-Crowan and this may be connected to the fact that the parish was in two parts, one in Penwith and one in Kerrier hundred. The Kerrier portion was once a separate chapelry and may have had St Uny as its patron saint. The Church has strong ties with the St Aubyn family, whose family seat Clowance House was nearby, the 5th and last Baronet, Sir John St Aubyn, was buried here in 1839. Of particular interest in this church are the stunning, stain glass windows.